PSM Uses PKR Logo


KUALA LUMPUR, 19 Apr: Candidates of the Socialist Party of Malaysia (PSM) will be contesting in the Kota Damansara constituency and for the Sungai Siput Parliament using the PKR logo in the 13th General Election (GE-13).

Serdang Member of Parliament incumbent, R Sivarasa said that the joyful decision will witness a one on one competition between PR and Umno-BN in both areas in the election.

“PKR is pleased to announce that two candidates from PSM, Dr Nasir Hashim and Dr Michael Jeyakumar Devaraj, will be contesting under the PKR logo at Kota Damansara and Sungai Siput.

“The autorisation letter for the both as PKR candidates will be signed by PKR President, Datuk Seri Dr Wan Azizah Wan Ismail, and will be handed to them after this.

“It is a win-win situation with PR to let this two candidates remain in these two areas.

“They are the incumbent and have the strength needed even though PSM is also keen to compete in other areas,” he said at a press conference here today.

In the GE-12 in 2008, PSM contested with the PKR logo in three areas; two State Assembly seats in Selangor which are Kota Damansara and Semenyih, while for one Parliamentary seat in Peark, Sungai Siput.

At Kota Damansara, Dr Nasir, 67, beat Umno-BN candidate, Zein Isma Ismail, 53, with a majority of 1,075, while Dr D Jeyakumar, 58, beat the MIC-BN candidate, Datuk Seri S Samy Vellu and independent candidate, Nor Rizan Oon, 54, with a majority of 1,821.

“When PSM candidates contest with the PKR logo, we will provide full support in all aspects during the campaigning period right up till the election, to ensure that the candidates win.

“When PSM candidates win, it means PKR wins, thus meaning that the PR coalition wins” he said.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.