56 Selangor State Assemblymen Takes Oath


SHAH ALAM, June 21: Today, a total of 56 members of the State Legislative Assembly (DUN) including 11 representatives from BN were officially sworn in before the start of the 13th session of the Selangor State Assembly (DNS) next Friday.

All 56 Assemblymen took the oath of allegiance to preserve, protect and uphold the Selangor State Body Laws front of the newly elected DNS Speaker, Hannah Yeoh.

The ceremony began with the oath swearing by the Chief Minister, Tan Sri Abdul Khalid Ibrahim, followed by three Selangor State Executive Councillors; Datuk Teng Chang Khim, Iskandar Samad and Rodziah Ismail.

It was followed by seven other Selangor Executive Councillors and then followed by assembly members from Pakatan Rakyat (PR) and Barisan Nasional (BN).

Earlier, the ceremony began with the Chief Minister’s proposal to put forward Hannah Yeoh’s name as the newly elected DNS Speaker followed by Teng nominating the Seri Setia Assemblyman, Nik Nazmi Nik Ahmad as the Deputy Speaker.

During the recent 13th General Election (GE-13), PR won in Selangor by acquiring more than two-thirds majority when they captured 44 out of the 56 DUN seats.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.