PR Names Kamaruddin Jaafar as the Deputy Speaker of the House of Representatives


KUALA LUMPUR, June 20: Pakatan Rakyat (PR) has named the Tumpat Member of Parliament, Datuk Kamaruddin Jaafar as the Deputy Speaker of the House of Representatives.

This was informed by PKR De Facto Leader, Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim in a press conference at the PAS Headquarters here at Jalan Raja Laut.

“We believe that this move is in line with the increasing composition number of members of parliament from PR and this will improve the quality of democracy in this country,” he added.
Anwar explained that the Deputy Speaker has to be elected from among BN Members of Parliament and another from Pakatan Rakyat.

During the same press conference, Anwar also informed that PR has officially and unanimously named the former Federal Court Judge, Datuk Abdul Kadir Sulaiman as the Speaker of the House of Representatives for the Thirteenth Parliament.

According to Anwar, PR insists that the election of the Deputy Speaker of the House of Representatives must be elected from among the independent, neutral without a party, competent and qualified to serve.

“Member of Parliament for Bandar Tun Razak and Chief Minister of Selangor, Tan Sri Abdul Khalid Ibrahim on behalf of PR’s standpoint has sent the nomination to parliament on June 10,” he told the media.

He also announced that the PR consensus agreed to keep him as the Head of Parliament for Pakatan Rakyat.

He added that all PR Members of Parliament will be present at the MP Swearing in Ceremony on Monday, June 24.

Overall, PR has 89 elected Members of Parliament in the GE-13 from the total 222 seats.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.