EC Announces Teluk Intan By-Election to Take Place on May 31, Nomination on May 19

SHAH ALAM, 8 May: The ELection Commission (EC) has set for the Teluk Intan Parliamentary by-election to take place on May 31, while the nomination day is on May 19.

This was announced by the EC Chairman, Tan Sri Abdul Aziz Mohd Yusof, who also informed that the early voting will take place on May 27.

The by-election will use the 2012 master electoral roll, combined with the 2013 electoral roll for the first, second, third and fourth quarter of the year.


He also informed that the by-election campaign for the parliamentary constituency will run for 12 days, six days after the Bukit Gelugor Parliamentary by-election ends on May 25.

The by-election for the Teluk Intan parliamentary seat is being held following the death of the incumbent, the late Seah Leong Peng, 48, who died from cancer.

The late Seah Leong Peng reportedly died at the University of Malaya Medical Centre (UMMC) at 7.45am on May 1.

Leong won the Teluk Intan parliamentary seat in the 13th General Election (GE13) with a najority of 7,313 votes, defeating the BN candidate, who is also the President of Gerakan, Datuk Mah Siew Keong and independent candidate, K Moralingam.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.