Teluk Intan By-Election: Dyana Sofya challenged by Gerakan President, two-cornered clash

TELUK INTAN, 19 May: The by-election for the Teluk Intan parliamentary seat will witness a two-cornered fight involving candidates from DAP and BN.

The Teluk Intan Parliament By-Election Managing Officer, Datuk Ibrahim Ahmad, announced the contesting candidates; Datuk Mah Siew Keong (BN) and Dyana Sofya Mohd Daud (DAP).


The candidate nomination process was held at Sekolah Menengah Kebangsaan Seri Perak, and was closed at 10 am.

Mah was proposed by the Perak MCA Secretary-General, Datuk Seri Kuan Peng Soon and was seconded by the Assemblyman for Changkat Jong, Datuk Mohd Azhar Jamaludin. Dyana was proposed by DAP member, Chang Kok Lim and seconded by party member, Pooi Weng Keong.

The Selangor Chief Minister, Tan Sri Abdul Khalid Ibrahim, was also present with other Pakatan Rakyat leaders during the candidate nomination to support the Pakatan Rakyat candidate.


The early polling will be held on May 27, while the polling day has been set for May 31.

The by-election was called following the death of the incumbent for the parliamentary seat, Seah Leong Peng, 48, from DAP due to cancer on May 1.

A total of 60,349 registered voters, consisting of 59,927 ordinary voters, 410 early voters and 12 Overseas Absentee voters are eligible to vote in the by-election.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.