Dr Wan Azizah appointed Opposition Leader

KUALA LUMPUR, 18 May: The PKR President, Datuk Seri Dr Wan Azizah Wan Ismail, was sworn in as the Permatang Pauh Member of Parliament in the Dewan Rakyat today during the Third Session of the 13th Parliament.

Dr Wan Azizah also started her duties as the Opposition Leader for the second time today when the Dewan Rakyat convened.


The Speaker, Tan Sri Pandikar Amin Mulia, announced the appointment after accepting her swearing-in ceremony and the new Member of Parliament from Barisan Nasional (BN) for the Rompin seat, Datuk Hasan Arifin.

“Dr Wan Azizah received unanimous support from the opposition to become its leader.

“The Honourable Permatang Pauh, welcome back to Parliament and congratulations on your appointment as the Opposition Leader,” said Pandikar.

PKR maintained its dominance of the Permatang Pauh seat when Dr Wan Azizah won in the by-election on May 7.

She defeated the BN candidate, Suhaimi Sabudin, with a majority vote of 8,841. The BN candidate only received 21,475 votes.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.