Map Incomplete for Five DUN Areas

SHAH ALAM, 24 Nov: Investigation of the Selangor State Electoral Roll Checking as reported in the Selangor Democratisation Project Report has revealed that five State Legislative Assembly (DUN) areas have incomplete maps.

Among others, there are voting districts that do not exist in the map, bordering areas that have not been corrected as well as voting district boundaries which are unclear.

The DUN areas concerned are the DUNs in Sungai Panjang, Sri Serdang, Damansara Utama, Hulu Kelang, Sementa and Selat Kelang.

For the Sungai Panjang DUN, voting districts Parit 2-5 have been found to be non-existent in the map, just like the non-existence of the Sri Aman voting district in the area of Seri Serdang DUN.

Meanwhile, the border between Damansara Jaya Utama and Selatan in Damansara Utama DUN, till now, has yet to be corrected.

Last year, the State Government had taken the initiative to set-up a special secretariat following the addition of 497,084 new voters as obtained from the Election Commission of Malaysia (SPRM).

The State Economic Planning Unit (UPEN) has been appointed as Coordination Officer and observer to the running of Electoral Roll Checking Project for the 4th quarter of 2011.

Electoral roll checking is done by village leaders (ketua kampung), council members and staff of District Offices as well as the respective Local Authorities.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.