PR States Will Dissolve State Legislative Assembly On 22 April


PETALING JAYA, 26 Mar: States under Pakatan Rakyat will stop all questions regarding the date of dissolution of Parliament to allow for the General Elections to be held by setting April 22 as the date the State Legislative Assemblies (DUN) will be dissolved.

This action will be carried out if the Prime Minister does not announce the dissolution of Parliament before that date.

Selangor Chief Minister, Tan Sri Abdul Khalid Ibrahim said that Selangor has decided to dissolve the DUN on that date.

Meanwhile other states under the coalition will discuss to reach a consensus regarding the joint DUN dissolve.

‘Pakatan Rakyat does not want to flip flop regarding the DUN dissolution because it causes anxiety to the people.

“The dissolving of the Negeri Sembilan DUN which is happening today is automatic and not allowed to happen for Pakatan Rakyat states,” said Abdul Khalid in a press conference with the top leaders of Pakatan Rakyat.

According to Abdul Khalid, who is also the Ijok Assemblyman, the decision to set the date is to put pressure on the Prime Minister to dissolve Parliament.

Replying to another question, Abdul Khalid said that setting the date for the DUN dissolution is also to allow the EC to make a decision to hold the elections simultaneously.

Previously, the EC promised to not hold separate elections to avoid using a lot of the public’s money.

The Selangor DUN will expire on 22 April. Meanwhile Kedah, 5 May, Penang, 2 May and Kelantan, 28 April.

The press conference was also attended by PKR De Facto Leader, Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim, DAP Parliamentary Leader, Lim Kit Siang and PAS Vice-President, Mohamad Sabu.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.