Anwar: Post GE-13, Umno-BN Still Arrogantly Using Power


SHAH ALAM, June 8: The use of Federal Government power by Umno to curb criticisms against them reflects the arrogance of the party and how dishonest Prime Minister, Datuk Seri Najib Razak is in the transformation agenda he keeps talking about.

For example, PKR De Facto Leader, Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim said that the action to detain activists and Pakatan Rakyat leaders again recently also shows how adamant Umno is in insulting the court’s decision.

“The event happened with the re-arrest of Tian Chua, Tamrin and Haris after being released four days, shows that the police are showing-off through the power they possess,” he said in a media statement.

PKR Vice-President, Tian Chua, PAS activist, Tamrin Ghafar and activist from Anyone But Umno NGO, Haris Ibrahim, were charged under the Sedition Act 1948 following their statements in a forum on 13 May.

Other examples can also be seen through the barriers imposed on the PKR Deputy President, Nurul Izzah Anwar from entering Sabah last week.

“Such actions seem to indicate that Izzah is a villain, and in fact puts (DAP Parliamentary Leader) Kim Kit Siang, (Bersih 2.0 Chairman) Ambiga and I on a list of people banned from entering Sabah is also a form of oppression and abuse of power,” he added.

According to Anwar, with the series of arrests, detention and unnecessary restrictions against activists and PR leaders, the Prime Minister proves once again that he is not a leader worthy of respect.

Malaysia which is also under Umno, said Anwar, seems to have two types of laws; one is especially for Umno and its cronies, while the other is imposed on those who do not share its aspirations.

“This is clear when they failed to take any action against those who actually sparked unrest and racial issues.

“Their arrogance will certainly receive returns. They (Umno) can so anything; jail, shame and insult anyone they want.

“But they need to realise that the real power is in the hands of the people,” stressed Anwar who is also the Member of Parliament for Permatang Pauh.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.